Earnhardt Jr. named Sprint NMPA Most Popular Driver

NASCAR | 12/8/2014

News Press Release

For the 12th consecutive year, Dale Earnhardt Jr. has been named as the Sprint NMPA Most Popular Driver.

DARLINGTON, S.C. – Dale Earnhardt Jr., winner of four NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races in 2014 and eighth overall in the final points standings, has been named the 2014 recipient of the Sprint NMPA Most Popular Driver award for the series.

It is the 12th consecutive year that Earnhardt Jr., 40, has won the award. In addition to the trophy he received during Friday evening’s season-ending NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards Ceremony at the Wynn Las Vegas, Earnhardt will collect a check for $10,000 earmarked for the charity of his choice.

Completing the top 10 in total votes for this year’s award were (listed alphabetically): Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Danica Patrick, Tony Stewart and Josh Wise.

The MPD award, sponsored by Sprint and overseen by the National Motorsports Press Association, is the only NASCAR award determined solely by fan vote. It has been awarded annually since 1953.

Beginning in July, fans were able to vote once daily by visiting www.sprint.com/speed. Those who chose to share their votes via social media (Facebook, Twitter) were allowed one additional vote during each 24-hour window.

Additionally, fans were able to cast votes for their favorite driver by visiting the Sprint Experience at the track during NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race weekends throughout the year.

Bill Elliott holds the record for most MPD awards, winning the fan vote 16 times during a career that spanned 37 years.


Previous MPD Winners

2014, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2013, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2012, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2011, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2010, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2009, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2008, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2007, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2006, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2005, Dale Earnhardt Jr.;

2004, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2003, Dale Earnhardt Jr.; 2002, Bill Elliott; 2001, Dale Earnhardt; 2000, Bill Elliott; 1999, Bill Elliott; 1998, Bill Elliott; 1997, Bill Elliott; 1996, Bill Elliott; 1995, Bill Elliott; 1994, Bill Elliott;

1993, Bill Elliott; 1992, Bill Elliott; 1991, Bill Elliott; 1990, Darrell Waltrip; 1989, Darrell Waltrip; 1988, Bill Elliott; 1987, Bill Elliott; 1986, Bill Elliott; 1985, Bill Elliott; 1984, Bill Elliott;

1983, Bobby Allison; 1982, Bobby Allison; 1981, Bobby Allison; 1980, David Pearson; 1979, David Pearson; 1978, Richard Petty; 1977, Richard Petty; 1976, Richard Petty; 1975, Richard Petty; 1974, Richard Petty;

1973, Bobby Allison; 1972, Bobby Allison; 1971, Bobby Allison; 1970, Richard Petty; 1969, Bobby Isaac; 1967, Cale Yarborough; 1966, Darel Dieringer; 1965, Fred Lorenzen; 1964, Richard Petty; 1963, Fred Lorenzen;

1962, Richard Petty; 1961, Joe Weatherly; 1960, Rex White; 1959, Jack Smith; 1958, Glen Wood; 1957, Fireball Roberts; 1956, Curtis Turner; 1955, Tim Flock; 1954, Lee Petty; 1953, Lee Petty