Find the Latest News on Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Junior Earns Pole Award at Kentucky

By Tyler Overstreet, JR Motorsports | Article Published 6/29/2013

Dale Earnhardt Jr. broke the previous track record en route to earning the Coors Light Pole Award at Kentucky Speedway. Earnhardt Jr.’s No. 88 National Guard Youth Foundation Chevrolet posted a time of 29.406 seconds (183.636 mph) to beat Carl Edwards and Jimmie Johnson.

“We thought we had a top-five car in practice and we got some good cloud cover about six or seven cars in front of us before we went to qualify and that brought the track temperature down to give us a good advantage,” Earnhardt Jr. said after posting the fast time. “(The cloud cover) gave us an opportunity to run a bit quicker lap than maybe what the car had in it. Steve (Letarte, crew chief) and Kevin Meendering(engineer) and the team put a good car out there that rolled the center and turned really well and actually went through (turns) three and four very good.”

Joining Earnhardt Jr., Edwards and Johnson in the top 10 are Kyle Busch, Marcos Ambrose, Denny Hamlin, Ryan Newman, Brad Keselowski, Brian Vickers and Juan Pablo Montoya.

The pole was the 12th of Earnhardt Jr.’s career and first of 2013. Earnhardt Jr.’s most recent pole came at Richmond International Raceway in Sept. 2012.

Coverage of the Quaker State 400 begins at 7:30 p.m. ET on TNT.

After IRWIN Tools Night Race
Rank +/- Driver Points Behind
1 -- Jeff Gordon 845 0
2 -- Dale Earnhardt Jr. 818 -27
3 -- Brad Keselowski 776 -69
4 -- Joey Logano 761 -84
5 -- Matt Kenseth 751 -94
6 +1 Jimmie Johnson 726 -119
7 -1 Kevin Harvick 721 -124
8 -- Carl Edwards 716 -129
9 -- Ryan Newman 710 -135
10 -- Clint Bowyer 699 -146
11 -- Greg Biffle 694 -151
12 +2 Kyle Larson # 668 -177
Full Standings