Find the Latest News on Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Junior Starting 15th in All-Star Race

By Tyler Overstreet, JR Motorsports | Article Published 5/17/2013

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will roll off 15th for the Sprint All-Star Race Saturday night at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The non-points event features winners from both 2012 and 2013, past series champions and previous All-Star Race winners from the past 10 years.

In a unique three-lap qualifying session featuring a required four-tire pit stop, Earnhardt Jr. and his No. 88 National Guard team performed the second-fastest run of the 19 eligible teams. After returning to the pits, the team received a five-second penalty for a loose lug nut.

“I think it’s a pretty neat deal and a little different twist to (qualifying). I like just having the pit crews involved. I like allowing them to help determine the outcome of qualifying and let those guys showcase their talents,” Earnhardt Jr. told reporters of the qualifying scenario. “It was fun. I don’t think trying to get on pit road like that is something I want to make a habit out of doing but it was pretty fun. I’d do it next year if they wanted to.”

Carl Edwards earned the pole, with Kurt Busch, Greg Biffle, Kyle Busch and Joey Logano making up the top five starters.

Saturday’s 90 lap All-Star event will consist of four 20-lap segments and a 10-lap sprint to the finish. Coverage of the event begins at 7 p.m. ET on Speed.

After Ford EcoBoost 400
Rank +/- Driver Points Behind
1 +1 Denny Hamlin 4112 0
2 -1 Joey Logano 4111 -1
3 -- Ryan Newman 4103 -9
4 +4 Kevin Harvick 4102 -10
5 -1 Jeff Gordon 4102 -10
6 -1 Matt Kenseth 4100 -12
7 -- Brad Keselowski 4095 -17
8 -2 Carl Edwards 4088 -24
8 +2 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2301 -2742
9 -- Kyle Busch 2280 -1832
10 -- Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2271 -1841
11 +1 AJ Allmendinger 2256 -1856
Full Standings